What’s More Important – The Journey or The Destination?

I attended a meeting in Somerset today – that’s many miles from where I live and you might think that when I discovered it would be 3 hours’ drive each way this would put me off going. Actually, no it didn’t because I had already decided to enjoy the ride. It was a perfectly still morning, with sunshine just breaking through the mist. The traffic flowed freely and I’d allowed enough time, so I wasn’t feeling stressed or anxious. Much of the countryside was new to me, so I enjoyed the glimpses of rolling fields and the different look and colour of the old cottages in the hamlets and villages I passed through. After listening to one of my favourite albums nice and loud and singing along to the choruses, I decided to continue with my education and played the rest of a personal development audio programme by Brian Tracy that I’ve been working through for the last few weeks. The hours in the car gave me calm and peaceful reflection time and a chance to crystallize what I’d heard into new thoughts and plans to put into focus the actions I’d be taking when I got home. A lot of people spend their time obsessing about the destination (when I’ve finally found a new partner/made my millions/lost 2 stone, then I’ll be happy). But what if now is all there is? The past is history, the future’s a mystery, as they say. So you might as well make the most of the journey and not while away your life waiting for some day to finally come!

On Thursday 11th September I am co-hosting a free seminar in Brighton with a family lawyer, a financial planner and a mortgage broker. It’s your chance to get informed with free and friendly advice about the best way to deal with financial, legal and accommodation issues you may be facing – not to mention the steps you’ll need to take to build a happy new life. I’ll also be signing copies of my book. So come along for coffee and cake and a chance to “get savvy”! It’s free – all you need to do is to choose the best time for you (10 am – 12 or 7 pm – 9 pm) and book your place by emailing sparsons@mayowynnebaxter.co.uk or ringing 01273 223220. See you on the other side…

My book, “THE SINGLE MUM’S SURVIVAL GUIDE – How To Pick Up The Pieces and Build a Happy New Life” is available on Amazon and selected bookshops. For your free audio download entitled “How To Build a Happy New Life”, please fill in your name and email in the form below. 

Leave a Reply

