From a Distance

Today is my 66th blog and I’m looking back, not just at my blogs but also at the book and the journey I’ve been on to get to this point, the eve of my official book launch and first book signing…

I’ve found that writing the book (and this blog) has been a little like possessing the power to travel backwards and forwards at will through time. At first, I was a little wary of the effect that trawling through all the sadness and heartache of my marriage break up and divorce and the challenges of single motherhood might be a bit of a downer – I’m a firm believer in adopting a positive mindset after all, so wouldn’t the whole process be so negative that it would drag me down?

The answer is that some passages still catch at my heartstrings and some memories will always be poignant but it’s like that song, “From a Distance”… Seeing those events and my past life from a distance and setting them out on the pages of my book has allowed me to stand back and review my past self with compassion, yes, but also with a certain detachment that only the perspective of time can bring. I can only hope that my readers will themselves achieve this feeling of peaceful detachment in due course. As someone once said: The past is history, the future’s a mystery and the present is a gift.

I hope you will come and celebrate with me tomorrow because I’m launching my book, “THE SINGLE MUM’S SURVIVAL GUIDE – How To Pick Up The Pieces and Build a Happy New Life” tomorrow, Friday 4th July, 7.30 – 9.00 pm at The Steyning Bookshop, 106 High Street, Steyning, West Sussex. If you’d like to come and meet me and get your signed copy, come and join me for a glass of wine and some nibbles and you’re welcome to bring a friend. Or contact me via my website, http://www.thesinglemumssurvivalguide.com

3 Comments

  1. I hope it’s a wonderful evening Vivienne – take lots of photos! I’ve started reading your book and it’s the stories that I love. Very honest and some are heartbreaking. I can see how helpful this book can be for single mums. It also has that comforting “you are not alone” element to it that I tried to get across in my book Bringing Up Brits which I think is so important for others to know. Congratulations on your 66th blog and your book launch!

    • Dear Meg, It’s so valuable to get your feedback, especially coming from a published author and accomplished blogger like yourself. I feel that we, as women, have this incredible capacity to share our wisdom and lift each other through dark times, as well as to celebrate each other’s triumphs and I feel privileged to be able to use my voice in this way, as well as giving a voice to the honest and courageous women who told their stories. I’d like to wish you and yours a very happy Independence Day and I shall raise a glass to you and my other American friends this evening!

Leave a Reply

