The Fine Art of Negotiation

During a meeting I was chairing today I was faced with a choice: ignore a general feeling of discontent around the table, take refuge in the prescribed routine and press on regardless, or open up a potentially negative discussion. I chose the latter, knowing that this situation has been brewing for a while and the longer it remains unresolved, the bigger it looms. In the end, the discussion was a very productive one. We each had a different position, yet there were areas of agreement to work on, which I believe will result in an outcome acceptable to us all.

As a single mum faced with difficult choices over a situation you may feel you have little control over, negotiation can be a powerful tool. In the chapter in my book on legal issues, Dawn Tarter -who is a certified family mediator, lays out some of the key things to bear in mind for a successful outcome. Isn’t it time you took the initiative and learnt how to work confidently towards a best-case scenario? You know what’s best for you and I’d be willing to bet you know what’s best for your child. Take back your power!

For my readers who are based in Illinois, visit www.dawntarterlaw.com for further details about her mediation services.

I’m launching my book, “THE SINGLE MUM’S SURVIVAL GUIDE – How To Pick Up The Pieces and Build a Happy New Life” on Friday 4th July, 7.30 – 9.00 pm at The Steyning Bookshop, 106 High Street, Steyning, West Sussex. If you’d like to come and meet me and get your signed copy, come and join me for a glass of wine and some nibbles and you’re welcome to bring a friend. If you can’t make it, the book is also available from Amazon and will be in bookstores from 1st July.

Leave a Reply

