Father’s Day

It’s Father’s Day and my husband is currently fast asleep. In a moment, I’m going to wake him up with a nice cup of tea. He’ll get his (step) Father’s Day card from my sons and then a cooked breakfast. Today he’s going on a bike ride with my eldest and our Spanish student, followed by a pint of beer and a pub lunch. In households everywhere, families will be celebrating in their own way.

Spare a thought, then, for families where Father’s Day is fraught with emotion because that “normal” family unit is fractured. I know of one example where the child’s father walked out shortly after his birth. He grew up with a lot of questions about why this had happened and one Father’s Day it all came to a head. After a visit to his paternal grandmother, where she had insisted that he make his father a card, he came home in floods of tears. He said to his mother “I don’t see why I should send my Dad a card – after all, he left as soon as I arrived. what kind of a father is that? He doesn’t deserve a card!”

As a single mum, you are often left to pick up the pieces of a broken family. Tread carefully and don’t let your antagonism towards your ex damage that vital relationship between a child and its father. So even if it’s with gritted teeth, encouraging them to send a Father’s Day card might be one way you can do this. And yes, my sons sent a card to their real Dad, as well as giving one to their step Dad. Such are modern families today!

“THE SINGLE MUM’S SURVIVAL GUIDE – How To Pick Up The Pieces and Build a Happy New Life” is available on Amazon and hits the shops on 1st July. If you’d like to meet me in person and get a signed copy of the book, do join me at my book launch on Friday 4th July, 7.30 pm at The Steyning Bookshop, High Street, Sreyning, West Sussex. There’ll be wine and nibbles and you’re welcome to bring a guest.

Leave a Reply

