Is Chocolate a Single Mum’s Best Friend?

As Easter approaches, the chocoholics among us who try to eat healthily the rest of the time are presented with a dilemma. Your internal dialogue might perhaps sound something like this: “I know it’s Easter and chocolate is everywhere, but the more I eat the more I want, so this year I’m going to be really sensible and ask everyone not to tempt me. Easter eggs are for the children, after all and I can always “regift” them if someone gives me some chocolates. Just think how virtuous I’ll feel….On the other hand, I do really BADLY want some of that chocolate. And I have had a really tough day! Just one mini egg won’t do any harm and it would be rude not to, wouldn’t it? Mmm, that tasted good. I wonder what the other fillings taste like? Maybe the best thing is just to finish these up now and then there won’t be any left to tempt me (until the next time)”…

Here’s an extract from my book, “THE SINGLE MUM’S SURVIVAL GUIDE” about comfort eating:

We all know about the downside of the sugar rush–the sugar low you get afterwards. Eating too many high carbohydrate-rich or processed foods, or consuming too many sugary drinks or foods can leave you feeling sleepy, sluggish and downhearted. Most of us single Mums have succumbed to comfort eating at some point and the occasional treat is perfectly fine but take it from me, it makes you feel so much worse in the long run and you can get onto a slippery slope which is hard to get off. Before you take a bite, ask yourself first: am I actually thirsty, instead of hungry? How will this feel as it slides into my stomach – not just now but for the rest of the day? Will eating it make both my body and mind feel good in the long run? If the answer is no, consider working out which emotion is eating you, step away from the food and spend a little time paying attention to nourishing your soul and spirit instead.

For those of you who are totally out of control around chocolate, one coaching session with me will sort that out. There’s a wonderful NLP technique called “Like to Dislike” which could convert your addiction to chocolate to a total aversion. Just ask my clients – where you see a piece of delicious, creamy, smooth milk chocolate they now see something which wouldn’t tempt them in a million years! To book your session, please use the contact form below. The session can be in person or via Skype, so distance is no problem.

 

Leave a Reply

