Airing my Views Live on Air!

interview with Allison at BBC Radio Sussex Today was nerve-racking but very exciting for me. I was interviewed live on air by Allison Ferns at BBC Radio Sussex on her “My Life” slot. (I’m the one on the right.)This opportunity to talk about my book, “THE SINGLE MUM’S SURVIVAL GUIDE – How To Pick Up The Pieces and Build a Happy New Life”, came about thanks to a colleague at my Athena women’s business networking group. I had told the group that I am spreading the word about the book prior to publication date in July and asked for any suggestions they might have. My colleague Linda sent me the link, I contacted the programme researcher and before I knew it, I was donning  a pair of headphones and waiting for the end of the song so our interview could begin! It’s really important to me to reach single mums everywhere, to reassure them that they are not alone and to give them some encouragement and inspiration. As we chatted and Allison asked me about the traumatic events in my life that led me to write the book I tried not to get too side-tracked in sharing the juicy titbits of my story  but instead to bear in mind my intended message, which is that it’s not so much what happens to you but how you deal with it that counts! Time flew by as we discussed dealing with the break-up, telling the kids and how to deal with the time when the children first meet their dad’s new girlfriend. There was barely enough time to cover much more but as our chat went so well I have been invited back next month to review the papers and Allison has promised to interview me again when she does her show on internet dating! So: all in all a great opportunity for me to reach a wider audience and none of it would have come about had I not asked for help. As I said to Allison, I urge all single mums to ask for help when they need it, too. It’s nothing to be ashamed of – we all need a helping hand from time to time, whether it’s timely advice, babysitting for a couple of hours or even just a friendly ear or a shoulder to cry on. Today, with my colleague Linda Belcher’s help, I got to reach out to a whole new audience, so I’m glad I put the request out! What do you need help with and who could you ask? You can contact me to ask for advice with a dilemma that’s troubling you – just use the contact form below.

Leave a Reply

