Born Organised or Sidetracked Home Executive?

Despite my previous tendency to scoff at tidy and organised people (I just loved that saying “a tidy desk is the sign of a sick mind!”), I have finally had to admit to myself that it makes me feel happy when my home is clean and ordered. However, as an all-or-nothing kind of girl, I tend to struggle with the little and often approach to organisation, especially in my house. Today, as I took advantage of a rare Sunday all to myself and did a whole day of laundry and ironing, I reflected on the advice I offer single mums in my book:

I’ve always found housework and staying tidy to be an effort, something that doesn’t come easily to me. I’m one of those people with a tidy mind but a tendency to have an untidy environment. When I was a single mum it just seemed overwhelming, especially with a tiny baby and a three year old. Even today, with older children and a supportive husband, I get stressed and overwhelmed and behind on housework and laundry sometimes. There’s a wonderful free website that you can join (which a friend recommended to me), called http://www.flylady.net. What I like about their system is the lack of judgment. They also recognise that creative, spontaneous personalities like me (or Side-tracked Home Executives, as Flylady, Marla Cilley, calls them) are fed up with living in CHAOS (Can’t Have Anyone Over Syndrome)! If you were not “born organised”, then this is the system for you. Using a quick and easy series of routines, the Flylady way will get rid of your procrastination, your clutter and your dirt in just a few minutes a day. After a while, the routines become second nature and you gradually work your way round the whole house without having to do massive spring-cleans, because you are cleaning more efficiently as you get rid of clutter. You get sent emails on a regular basis to keep you on track which are motivational and supportive without being nagging … and there’s even a daily Flykids Challenge, to help you teach the children some good habits.

“THE SINGLE MUM’s SURVIVAL GUIDE- How to Pick Up the Pieces and Build a Happy New Life” is available on Amazon as an eBook and will be released as a paperback on 1st July. To order you free chapter, please contact me using the form below.

Leave a Reply

