A long time in the making

My eBook was listed for sale for the first time on Amazon today, which feels very exciting! As some of you know, giving birth to a book is a little like having another child….so how long did my “book baby” take to make? Well, thirteen years actually . Because I’d have to count the character-building experience of discovering unexpectedly,  as a mother of a 3 week old and a 3 year old, that I was going to be a single mum. Then there was the job of breaking the news to my little boy, not to mention helping him through the traumatic experience. I couldn’t leave out the divorce,either – or all the other parts of my journey through heartbreak, acceptance, forgiveness and moving on. All those things had to be experienced for the book to come to fruition and then there were the years when I simply shelved it and got on with the business of being a busy working mum. All that time, though, the book was growing and developing in my mind; it had become a part of me, a story that one day would have to be told. I knew there were other stories to tell, too – the stories of the other single mothers I had met through the years and whose tragedies and triumphs I shared. I also knew that I’d need to give my readers some practical advice, which meant finding the right professionals: experts who knew the secrets to surviving and thriving as a single mother. So it was a long time in the making but I wouldn’t miss a day of the journey – it made me and my book what we are today!

“THE SINGLE MUM’S SURVIVAL GUIDE – How to Pick Up the Pieces and Build a Happy New Life” is out today (April 1st 2014) on Amazon and hits the shops as a paperback on 1st July.

Leave a Reply

